Matt Henry to S Smith, FOUR, Australia win the World Cup for the fifth time

australia-icc-cricket-world-cup-2015-trophy1987 – Eden Gardens, 1999 – Lord’s, 2003 – Wanderers, 2007 – Kensington Oval, but winning at the MCG at home must be really special. India did it four years ago chasing at the Wankhede in a final and today, Australia have done it at the MCG. Michael Clarke’s won a World Cup in his first attempt as captain and what a way to end your ODI career.

Here goes the commentary for you:
Shortish slower delivery just outside off stump, Smith rocks back and pulls it behind square on the on-side, the ball runs away to the fence. Smith punches the air in delight, has his hands aloft as he runs, takes off his helmet and gloves, jumps and hugs Watson. It was the battle of trans-Tasman neighbours, the show down between a four-time tournament winner and a team playing in its maiden final.

Australia have yet again proved that no other team is better than them in the knockout stages.They won effortlessly in the semis and now the final in spite of playing against two teams that hadn’t lost a game prior to meeting them
australia have now won world cups in asia, europe, africa, north america & australia. only south america & antarctica remain!

Although Australia weren’t as ruthless as they were before in this World Cup, they managed to grab key moments, which was key to their successful journey. The fact that they managed to win the title despite not playing their perfect game in the entire tournament speaks volumes of the depth they have in their outfit. Mitchell Starc outclassing Mitchell Johnson was a sight to watch. Overall, the Australian boys have given a perfect farewell gift for their captain Michael Clarke, who has hung up his ODI boots.

There was no shortage of support as the MCG, bursting at the seams with a record 93,013 fans in attendance, buzzed with electricity well before the toss. Decked up in their yellow tees and wearing their yellow caps with pride, In Michael Clarke’s final appearance as a One-Day International player, Australia showed its class, romping to a big win in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. New Zealand arrived in Australia hopeful of becoming the newest first-time champion. But in the space of seven hours on Sunday (March 29), it was emphatically denied.

Ultimately it was not to be, as the world’s top-ranked ODI team romped to a seven-wicket victory.

Australia overwhelmed New Zealand to win the World Cup for a fifth time at an ecstatic Melbourne Cricket Ground Clarke, in his final one-day international, was given a standing ovation by the record 93,000 crowd and welcomed by his team-mates on the boundary when he was bowled by Matt Henry with eight required.
Wonderful Cricket By Australia!


Michael Clarke (c)
George Bailey
David Warner
Aaron Finch
Mitchell Marsh
All Rounder
Steven Smith
Glenn Maxwell
Shane Watson
James Faulkner

Brad Haddin

Mitchell Johnson
Josh Hazlewood
Patrick Commins
James Faulkner
Xavier Doherty
Mitchel Starc

World Cup final, Melbourne:

New Zealand 183 (45 overs):
Batting : Elliott 83, Taylor 40
Bowling : Henry 2-46, Trent Boult 1-40prv_4d93d_1427609864

Australia 186-3 (33.1 overs):
Batting : Clarke 74, Smith 56*
Bowling : Johnson 3-30, Faulkner 3-36


  • Total Score 0%
User rating: 0.00% ( 0
votes )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Write the Answer * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.